World Test Championship Final 2023 Stats And Records Of WTC Cycle 2021-23

The World Test Championship (WTC) is the pinnacle of Test cricket, where the top nine Test-playing nations compete for the coveted title. The second edition of the WTC cycle, spanning from 2021 to 2023, culminated in a thrilling final between two deserving teams at a neutral venue. Let’s take a closer look at the stats and records of the WTC cycle 2021-23, leading up to the much-anticipated final.

Overall Performance:

Throughout the WTC cycle, a total of 27 series were played, comprising 59 Test matches. These matches witnessed some exceptional performances from both individuals and teams, adding excitement and drama to the longest format of the game. Let’s delve into the notable statistics from the cycle.

Highest Run-Scorers:

The WTC cycle 2021-23 saw some exceptional batting displays, with several players leaving their mark. The leading run-scorer during this cycle was Joe Root from England, amassing an astonishing 2,647 runs in 26 matches at an average of 67.97. Root’s sublime form played a crucial role in England’s success during the championship.

Other notable batsmen who made their presence felt were Kane Williamson from New Zealand, who scored 2,363 runs at an average of 66.20, and Marnus Labuschagne from Australia, who accumulated 2,276 runs at an average of 63.22. These batsmen showcased their class and consistency throughout the championship.

Leading Wicket-Takers:

Bowlers also left an indelible mark on the WTC cycle 2021-23, with some outstanding performances that swung the momentum in favor of their respective teams. The leading wicket-taker was Pat Cummins from Australia, who scalped a remarkable 105 wickets in 23 matches at an average of 21.46. Cummins’ relentless pace and accuracy troubled batsmen throughout the cycle.

Following closely behind Cummins was Ravichandran Ashwin from India, who took 98 wickets in 21 matches at an average of 20.03. Ashwin’s ability to exploit the conditions and his vast repertoire of deliveries made him a formidable force. check Also

Team Performances:

During the WTC cycle 2021-23, New Zealand and India emerged as the standout teams, displaying exceptional consistency and determination. New Zealand topped the points table with 420 points, winning seven out of the 11 series they played. Their disciplined approach and collective effort contributed to their success.

India, on the other hand, secured the second spot with 410 points, winning eight out of the 14 series they contested. Their stellar performances both at home and overseas showcased their prowess in Test cricket. Australia finished third with 332 points, while England secured the fourth spot with 322 points.

World Test Championship Final 2023:

The final showdown of the WTC cycle 2021-23 was held at a neutral venue, pitting the top two teams, New Zealand and India, against each other. Both teams displayed exceptional skills, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the cycle, earning their spot in the final.

The final was a thrilling encounter, showcasing the essence of Test cricket. It witnessed intense battles between bat and ball, captivating the attention of cricket enthusiasts worldwide. The result of the final will go down in history as a testament to the resilience and talent of both teams.

Records Created and Broken: The WTC cycle 2021-23 witnessed the creation and breaking of several records. From individual milestones to team achievements, the championship provided moments that will be cherished for years to come.

World Test Championship (2021-2023) – Points Table

World Test Championship (2021-2023) – Points Table

TeamMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches LostMatches DrawnPoints Earned
New Zealand11731420
West Indies11353214
South Africa14383210
Sri Lanka13265200


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *