T20 World Cup Records (2007-2016)

T20 World Cup Records: The England & Wales Cricket Board established the official rules for T20 cricket in 2003, and the first tournament was played by the County Teams of England.

Two years later, in 2004, Australia & New Zealand played a friendly T20 match in Auckland, which was the first official T20 match. As the game is short & interesting, this vibrant format is sure to be appreciated and enjoyed by many youngsters and other people.

With the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, this format reached greater heights in less than three years. Team India’s win created a huge market for T20 cricket in the Indian subcontinent, which led BCCI to develop IPL to exploit it, which even led to T20 cricket’s peak in popularity.

During IPL 2021 in UAE, the T20 World Cup will be held after the last one in 2016. Here are some individual records made and held over the years as we approach this extravaganza of fast-paced cricket.

T20 World Cup runs are most often associated with Mahela Jayawardene, former Sri Lankan captain. In 31 innings, he has scored 1,016 runs at an average of 39.07 with 6 fifties and one century. The only active player who’ll be playing in the 2021 World Cup is Virat Kohli, who’s among the top 5 run scorers in T20 World Cups. This is the first and last T20 World Cup for Indian captain Virat Kohli. With an average of 86.33, he has scored 777 runs in 16 matches.

New Zealand Wicketkeeper-Batter Brendon McCullum has the highest individual score in the T20 World Cup. In 2012, the New Zealander scored 123 runs off 58 balls against Bangladesh. In this innings, he hit 11 fours and 7 sixes. 59 runs were the difference between New Zealand and Australia in this match.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has the highest batting average in T20 World Cup. With an unreal average of 86.33 while batting, Virat Kohli has played in three world cups – 2012, 2014 & 2016. In 16 innings, he has scored 777 runs. A total of nine half-centuries have been recorded by Virat Kohli in T20 World Cups.

One of the most important factors in a T20 game is the strike rate. The ultimate goal of the game is to gather runs quickly, so a high strike rate is crucial. Darren Sammy, the West Indian all-rounder and T20 World Cup-winning captain, holds the record for the highest strike rate for a batter. 164.12 is Sammy’s strike rate in the 18 innings he has batted for West Indies. In the 18 innings he has batted for West Indies, he has scored 215 runs in 131 balls.

It’s no surprise that West Indian T20 legend Chris Gayle has scored the most centuries at the T20 World Cup. The T20 World Cup has seen Gayle smash two centuries. Six other players have each scored a century.

The following are some other interesting individual records in the T20 World Cup:

In 2016, Chris Gayle scored a century in 48 balls against England.

Yuvraj Singh smashed 6 sixes in an over against England in the 2007 World Cup. In just 12 balls, he scored the fastest fifty in history.

In the T20 World Cup, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi has the most duck scores. In 32 innings, Afridi has five ducks. There are five ducks in Tilakaratne Dilshan‘s record but they came in 34 innings, two more than Shahid’s.

Gayle has hit the most sixes in the T20 World Cup, another record registered to Universe Boss’ name. During his T20 World Cup appearances, he has smashed 60 sixes. The upcoming T20 World Cup is a great opportunity for Gayle and the West Indies to increase this number.

A match with the most sixes is again won by Chris Gayle. The 2016 T20 World Cup saw him smash 11 sixes against England.

111 fours in 31 innings is the most number of fours recorded by ex-Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene.

In the 2007 T20 World Cup, Herschelle Gibbs hit 14 fours in an innings against West Indies.

In the opening match of the 2007 T20 World Cup against South Africa, Chris Gayle broke another record by hitting 88 runs through boundaries in his innings of 117 off 57 balls.

In the 2010 World Cup, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakara amassed 166 runs for the 2nd wicket against West Indies. In the T20 World Cup, this partnership remains the highest.

The following are some other interesting records for a single tournament:

The most half centuries in a single T20 World Cup belong to Australian legend Matthew Hayden and Virat Kohli. In the 2007 World Cup, Hayden scored four fifties, while in the 2014 World Cup, Virat Kohli scored four fifties.

With 319 runs in 6 innings in the 2014 T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs scored in a single tournament.

He has 16 sixes to his name in 6 innings during the 2012 T20 World Cup, making him the player with the most sixes in a single tournament.

In the 2012 T20 World Cup, Tilikaratne Dilshan smacked 46 fours in 7 innings. An individual has never had more in a single T20 World Cup. In the 2009 T20 World Cup, Dilshan achieved this feat.

T20 is a batter-dominated format, but good bowling helps you win a cricket match, regardless of the format. In most cases, you should be able to win a match if you take 10 wickets. From the T20 World Cups, here are a few bowling records.

In T20 World Cups, Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi has taken the most wickets. With 39 wickets in 34 matches, this spinner is one of the most successful spinners in history.

Ajantha Mendis, the former mystery spinner from Sri Lanka, has the best bowling figures. Mendis took six wickets in his four overs against Zimbabwe in the 2012 T20 World Cup.

Mendis also holds the record for the highest bowling strike rate in T20 World Cups. With 21 matches under his belt, he has a strike rate of 13.4.

Also, Mendis holds the record for most wickets in a season. During the 2012 T20 World Cup, he took 15 wickets in six matches.

In 15 matches, Samuel Badree has taken 24 wickets for West Indies. In the T20 World Cup, he has the best bowling average of 13.58.

In the T20 World Cup, Sunil Narine, a West Indian ace spinner, has the best economy rate. He has picked up 15 wickets in 12 matches, with an economy of 5.17.

Finally, ‘fielding’ is an important aspect of the game. By playing well in the field, you can build up pressure to stop the flow of runs and, therefore, take wickets. A few more fielding records are listed below:

MS Dhoni, India’s former captain and now mentor, holds the record for most dismissals as a wicketkeeper in T20 World Cups. In total, he has been dismissed 32 times.

With 23 catches, South African legend AB de Villiers holds the record.

In the 2012 T20 World Cup Records, AB de Villiers had the most dismissals as a wicketkeeper with nine.

The 2010 T20 World Cup saw Australia’s Mr Cricket Michael Hussey record the most catches in a single tournament with eight catches.

Here are some more interesting records, including participation records, hosting records, etc.

The highest win percentage in T20 World Cup belongs to Nepal, but we have disregarded it since they have only played three matches.

Being a spectator at this year’s World Cup is also interesting. This is the first world cup after the pandemic hit the world. In addition, the T20 World Cup takes place after five years, so there is a greater sense of anticipation. World Cup 2018 will set and break many records, but only time will tell.

After 2016 Onwards T20 World Cup Records Updated here Stay tuned with us…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *