T20 World Cup Player Of The Tournament List

Introduction: The T20 World Cup, a prestigious cricket tournament featuring the best players from around the globe, has provided countless memorable moments over the years. Within the tournament’s high-intensity clashes and nail-biting finishes, certain players have risen above the rest, leaving an indelible mark on the cricketing world. This article pays tribute to the outstanding performers who have been honored as the Player of the Tournament in T20 World Cup history.Check Also Highest Batting Strike Rate in IPL

t20 world cup player of the tournament list
T20 World CupYearPlayerTeam
20072007Irfan PathanIndia
20092009Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka
20102010Craig KieswetterEngland
20122012Marlon SamuelsWest Indies
20142014Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka
20162016Marlon SamuelsWest Indies
20212021Mitchell MarshAustralia

Shahid Afridi –

T20 World Cup 2007: The inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 saw Pakistan’s explosive all-rounder, Shahid Afridi, mesmerize fans and pundits alike with his exceptional performances. Known for his power-hitting and effective leg-spin bowling, Afridi showcased his skills throughout the tournament, scoring vital runs and taking crucial wickets. His contributions were instrumental in guiding Pakistan to a historic victory, and he was deservedly named the Player of the Tournament.

Tillakaratne Dilshan – T20 World Cup 2009:

Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan left an indelible mark on the T20 World Cup 2009 in England. Dilshan’s aggressive batting style combined with his exceptional fielding skills made him a force to be reckoned with. He consistently provided blistering starts to the Sri Lankan innings and finished the tournament as the highest run-scorer. Dilshan’s exceptional performances earned him the Player of the Tournament award.

Kevin Pietersen – T20 World Cup 2010:

The T20 World Cup 2010 in the West Indies witnessed the English batsman Kevin Pietersen’s brilliance. Pietersen’s ability to dominate bowlers with his attacking stroke play was on full display during the tournament. He played some memorable innings, including a match-winning knock in the final against Australia, which helped England secure their first-ever T20 World Cup title. Pietersen’s consistent performances earned him the coveted Player of the Tournament accolade.

Shane Watson – T20 World Cup 2012:

The T20 World Cup 2012 held in Sri Lanka showcased the dominance of Australia’s Shane Watson. With his explosive batting and accurate medium pace bowling, Watson played a crucial role in Australia’s march to the semi-finals. He consistently performed with both bat and ball, providing match-winning contributions throughout the tournament. Watson’s all-round heroics earned him the Player of the Tournament recognition.

2014 T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament: Virat Kohli (India)

In the 2014 T20 World Cup held in Bangladesh, Virat Kohli of India was awarded the Player of the Tournament. Kohli’s exceptional performances with the bat throughout the tournament made him the standout player. He displayed remarkable consistency and played crucial innings in pressure situations, earning him the prestigious award.

Kohli’s batting prowess was on full display as he scored a total of 319 runs in the tournament, including three half-centuries. He showcased his ability to adapt to different match situations and played vital innings to help India progress through the tournament. His impeccable technique, stroke play, and ability to chase down targets made him the most impactful player of the tournament.

Marlon Samuels – T20 World Cup 2016:

The T20 World Cup 2016 in India witnessed West Indies’ Marlon Samuels rise to the occasion in grand fashion. Known for his ability to absorb pressure and perform under challenging circumstances, Samuels played crucial knocks in high-stakes encounters. His unbeaten 85 in the final against England will forever be etched in the memories of cricket fans. Samuels’ consistent and match-winning performances earned him the Player of the Tournament honor.

Virat Kohli – T20 World Cup 2016:

The same T20 World Cup in 2016 also showcased the brilliance of India’s batting maestro, Virat Kohli. Renowned for his exquisite stroke play and chasing prowess, Kohli displayed exceptional consistency throughout the tournament. He played several match-winning innings, including a crucial knock against Australia in the knockout stages. Kohli’s sublime performances with the bat earned him the Player of the Tournament award.

2019 T20 World Cup Player of the Tournament: David Warner (Australia)

In the 2019 T20 World Cup held in Australia, David Warner of Australia was named the Player of the Tournament. Warner’s explosive batting performances and consistent run-scoring played a pivotal role in Australia’s success in the tournament.

Warner emerged as the highest run-scorer in the tournament, accumulating a total of 647 runs at an impressive average. He displayed incredible power-hitting abilities, striking the ball with precision and regularly finding the boundaries. Warner’s ability to provide quick starts at the top of the order and his contributions in high-pressure situations made him the deserving recipient of the Player of the Tournament award.


Shaheen Afridi’s exceptional performance against Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup 2022 earned him the Player of the Match award. He dismantled the Bangladesh batting lineup with his impressive bowling skills, contributing significantly to his team’s victory. Here are the highlights of his outstanding display.


The T20 World Cup has witnessed numerous exceptional players who have left an indelible mark on the tournament’s history. From Shahid Afridi’s explosive display in the inaugural edition to Virat Kohli’s unparalleled consistency, these players have brought


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *